East Midlands Network

 

The East Midlands Regional Participation Leads Group (EMRPLG) has membership from each LA in the region. 
 
 
Mission Statement
 
To ensure that all Local Authority-led partnerships in the East Midlands achieve and maintain a measurable high standard of participation through shared promotion and implementation of good practice.
 
This work is underpinned by a shared commitment to Article 12 of the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child and the Equality Act duties to inform, consult and involve.
 
 
Definition of Participation
 
Participation is the effective involvement of children and young people, parents and carers, vulnerable adults and their carers, and other citizen groups in the development, delivery and evaluation of services and individual plans that affect their lives.
 
 
Membership
           
Participation leads:       
 
Derby City:                   Adele Styles                 adele.styles@derby.gov.uk
Derbyshire                      Bish Sharif                   Bish.Sharif@derbyshire.gov.uk
Leicestershire:               Michelle James                         michelle.james@leics.gov.uk
Lincolnshire:                  Colin Hopkirk (chair)      Colin.Hopkirk@lincolnshire.gov.uk
Nottingham City            :           Jon Rea                         jon.rea@nottinghamcity.gov.uk
Nottinghamshire:           Chris Warren                 chris.warren@nottscc.gov.uk
Northamptonshire:         Julie Jordan                  JJordan@northamptonshire.gov.uk
Rutland:                        Jacqueline Difolco        JDifolco@rutland.gov.uk
Leicester City                Bernadette Killeen         bernadette.killeen@leicester.gov.uk
 
DCS champion: Debbie Barnes, Lincolnshire County Council
 
 
Role of the group
 
·         To be the lead strategic regional group for participation by children and young people, parents and carers.  To contribute to other groups regional work with vulnerable adults and their carers, and with other disadvantaged or excluded groups
·         To generate, support and promote policies, strategies and standards of working to ensure meaningful participation by the above groups
·         To influence decision-making at regional Directors of Children’s Service and Directors of Social Services group and other senior level decision-making through advice, research, policy response; through the promotion of best practice guidance to improve systems and processes of participation by Local Authorities and their partners, through their respective partnership boards.

 

 

 

The group meets monthly, normally at Loxley House, Nottingham City Council's Offices.  It is currently chaired by me, and is formally linked with the RDCS group for the region, with a participation champion at RDCS, Debbie Barnes, DCS Lincolnshire.

 

 

How do I contact the Regional Coordinator?

Colin Hopkirk
Participation Officer

Participation Team
LCC Children's Services
Tues-Thurs at
West Area Youth Office
74-76 Hemswell Avenue
Lincoln
LN6 0AZ

Fridays at Room 4.11
Orchard House

Lincoln
LN1 1BR


Tel: 07824 803433 / 01522 555519

 

Colin.Hopkirk@lincolnshire.gov.uk

 

 

 

 

Participation Works is a partnership of…
British Youth CouncilChildren's Rights Alliance for EnglandKIDSNational Council for Voluntary Youth ServicesNational Youth AgencyNCB